Get out of your own way

The older I get the more I realize that life doesn’t slow down and wait for us to catch up with it. It just keeps going on.

Each moment that passes could be an opportunity that is missed if we choose to wait instead of taking action. I decided that I did not want to be one of those people who spent my life waiting instead of acting.

I’ve recently started a business. For the last seven years, I have worked in an office that helps people who are starting businesses. Every day I see these talented men, women and youth come in and out, full of excitement, ideas and a bit of fear, as they start in a new venture in their lives.

Then one day I thought, why not me?

I’m relatively young still, I have a job that I love, but I have always had this yearning to do more. To do something that was my own that I could be proud of. So this past December I created, On the Line Communications.

You know how your parents and grandparents are always asking for help checking their email, or wanting someone to help them use social media sites like Facebook and Twitter? I created a service that provides one on one tutoring for seniors and baby boomers to show them how to use social media to stay connected with their loved ones and their interests from the comfort of their own home.

OTLC_facebook_profile

I took everyday things that I love; people, social media, talking and teaching, and have turned it in to what I hope will be a successful and thriving business in the future.

Nothing is for sure in this life, but what we can be sure of is ourselves. Give yourself permission to move in the direction of your dreams whatever they may be. You are the only one standing in your own way.

The first step toward success is taken when you refuse to be a captive of the environment in which you first find yourself.

Mark Caine

2015me

2 thoughts on “Get out of your own way

  1. I smiled so much when I read this. We need to pursue our dreams, when should we otherwise? I’m doing exactly the same. A few months back I decided to drastically change my life. After my 7 year relationship ended and a friend of mine committed suicide – I made the decision to STOP waiting for real life to begin and pursue my dream.

    So, I left my corporate marketing job in Paris, packed my bags and went to my favorite city in the world: New York. Today I’m in the Dominican Republic (where it’s cheaper and warmer) and I’m working on setting up my own business, which has PEOPLE and not money as a focus. My goal is to return to New York one day, where I believe I can make most impact. I go on my journey with full trust in the universe. I want to be an example for my friends of how amazing life CAN be.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat! What do you think?

