Feeling down? It’s time to turn that frown upside down!

IMG_20150211_152538

It’s time to start living gratefully.

There are many times in life when it seems as though the negatives outweigh the positives. It can be difficult at times to see the glass as half full when we are so focused on it being half empty. Between endless bill payments, household chores and maintenance; at least 8 hours a day being spent in the workplace, kids that aren’t listening, and daunting daily errands, it leaves very little space in our minds to see the good things around us on a daily basis. What if you had the power within you to change all that?

Here’s the good news, you DO have that power! We all do. It’s in your mind. We tend to underestimate the power that we hold within ourselves. The key to happiness and positivity is literally up to you. What you see is actually what you get. If you are only focused on the negative aspects of your life, you will only see and attract more negativity.

I very recently was feeling overwhelmed with negativity and anxiety. This had been going on for months. I was finding it difficult to breathe at times as I felt so overwhelmed by my thoughts. I was only focusing on what I was not happy with in my life which was causing me to be in a constant state of stress. I am and have always been a happy go lucky, upbeat person who thrives with energy and positivity. About eight months ago I felt the shift begin to happen. The larger part of my thoughts and conversations with friends and family were starting to be riffed with the things I was not happy about instead of sharing what I was happy about. I was only sharing my woes instead of my joys. I forgot that even though I was not happy in all areas of my life, there was still so much to be grateful for.

Not long ago, I started reading about vision boards and gratitude journals, and honestly, I didn’t see it as something that had a lot of worth to me. I was wrong.

I was rummaging through an old Rubbermaid tub that had a bunch of my old scrapbooking supplies and photograph’s and came across an empty journal. I decided then and there that I would use it as a gratitude journal. Tens of thousands of extremely successful leaders are huge advocates of using these methods to help achieve success and a healthy and positive mindset.

I have been taking 10 minutes every night at bed time to reflect on 5 things that I am grateful for. I have not yet had any trouble coming up with something new each day. I also started to post one picture a day on Instagram that I am grateful for to help keep me accountable and in hopes that I might inspire some of my followers to do the same.

In the last week, I have had a new lead for my social media tutoring business and a new and exciting online writing opportunity for a women’s based website.

I am not suggesting that thinking positively and counting your blessings daily will mean that there will no longer be things in life that you are not 100% happy with; what I am saying is that the shift in focus will allow you the clarity to put your energy where you need it so that more good things will come, and when they do, you will recognize them.

If you’d like to join me on my gratitude journey, follow along on Instagram @shanniem5

May your cup runneth over.

Let's Chat! What do you think?

